Goodbye My Lover

There I sat at my table fumbling for words to write, making doodles as I struggled to compose a sonnet that would immortalize the good times we shared. So I sat there that cool afternoon, wondering for the life of me what words to use to capture her essence.

Now you probably think I’m an incorrigible romantic, a regular Romeo, maybe I am; but to the one I am about to write this love song, I wasn’t. I was the quintessential African man, stubborn and unyielding; it cost me true love.

Days have gone by now, weeks on wings flew, and even months are beginning to slowly crawl, still this ache for her hasn’t ceased… I long for her, but my actions it was that pushed her away, and my pride, that made me stand my ground.

Now, it seems too late to say I love you, when really that is all I want to scream on the rooftop. Make a fool of myself and let the world know she ‘got’ me. But it is too late. I heard she is dating again, learning to smile and live again, hence this parting gift I hope to give. A sonnet of love that we once shared…

Still at the table I sat, sweating profusely in an air conditioned room, this is not JAMB, but I was surely failing. I tried, the words eluded me; I wrote, the spellings were incorrect; I scribbled, the sentences lacked lustre for in my heart, I was not ready to draw a curtain.

So I sat there and cried. Instead of writing a sonnet I wept. We had a love so true and I acted the fool, now she is gone and I’m wiser. Soon the page on which I wrote was soaked with tears, then came the inspiration to write this…

With tears streaming and words failing;
A deep ache and my heart ailing;
These words resonate within me frail-ly
I love you eternal-ly…

13 thoughts on “Goodbye My Lover

  1. This piece is sweet, has a sedate pace about it that makes you feel sorry for the MC, and in the end you are left saying Goodbye to his lover. Even though you blame him a little, you end up wishing he heals and moves on with lessons learned.

    Nice one, Derin. Well done. $ß.

  2. as usual….nice piece. The fun part, was while he was lacking words to express his pain cum loss…he did the exact thing in the 4th paragraph. Well done.

Ehs you, yes you! Please don't sneak off na, drop a line, share your thoughts...

