I Am My Mother’s Son

E’er I could comprehend, she spoke to me
When I was voiceless, she understood me
My pains, her manifest
For she nestled me warmly

My best friend for months – nine
She took me everywhere she went
Sharing my jokes and rooting for me
Anxiously awaiting my showing

I cried, I wailed, I lamented
Her warmth, my comfort zone; divorced
When, pushed I was to breathe in air
Our love affair temporarily stalled

‘Twas soon revealed, she loved me more
My tears, her distress button
For nothing important was
When my lips parted releasing melodious tunes

Overtime, she fought for me
Fought with me
And sometimes, fought against me
Still our connection grew stronger; our bond unbreakable

She was my first love, when love, I had no understanding of
She is my true love, for no one knows me better
She will be the queen of my heart, till the words part, I do.

I do, will usher in a new first
I do, will install a new queen
Still, though she be dethroned
A special place she will occupy
For she understood me first
She is my Mother
And I, I will always, eternally, be her boy.

-for Mom, Mrs Omokehinde Ruth Gbadebo my friend, my confidant 🙂
Love you loads!

10 thoughts on “I Am My Mother’s Son

  1. So you follow those Olarindin, Ayorindin kind of pikins dem wey dey tink sey na ‘melodious tunes’ dey comot from their yeye mouth when their ‘lips parted’ abi? If I hear.

    Before the ‘I do’ sef gan I know sey you go don get ‘a new first’ tey tey n if not, you go don dey lie give some sey na dem b d new first.

    I write poetry too but what you have here makes me feel like I have been writing nursery rhymes all this while.

    This is poetry!

  2. I had to come here again to read an original poetry, d lines r well arranged , it moves on sweetly as if av never read anypiece about a mother b4 .Even soyinka can’t criticise it! nix try bro kip it up ….muah best of d best .I hardly av time for writing buh am a gud critique I know a gud write up wen I c one.

  3. Niceeeeee way of putting it! D maternal n child experience cuts across a physical biological emotional psychological n spiritual bond. I look at my girl n I wonder to myself, was she really on d inside of me? I think d experience humbled me n I’m so glad today I can b called MOM! Let’s hope some man dnt come in future n wreck our bond lol. Thanks for the write up love

Ehs you, yes you! Please don't sneak off na, drop a line, share your thoughts...

