Ten Years

Tell your dreams to me
She sang ever so sweetly
Show me your hopes
For I will with thee mesh
And your desires achieve
Foolish man I, believed.
And my dreams on the winds soared
My hopes fled…

Ten years ago I wanted a bike, a free spirit, I harassed everyone to buying for one me, finally got more than enough to buy the damn thing and mom shut me down. You can’t be riding a bicycle along the expressway son. I won’t allow it, ergo, my bike dream…, busted. Annoyingly I can’t stop thinking of owning a bike, so ten years later, I bought one.

Ten years ago I wanted to learn to drive. Matter of fact had wanted to since I saw Njoh driving at eight, I was six. So everyone had the wisdom to grab their car keys once I entered a room, making the cars unavailable to me. It was different that year, too many cars in the compound, all I had to do was take a key. Then I asked my uncle and the cars relocated to the nearest police station. (He was a policeman and I think that’s like fifty percent reason why I hate the men in black.) Those cars got spoilt there because no one drove them for years. I for just carry key, dent the damn cars >:o now, ten years later I just dey learn to drive… *sighs*

Ten years ago I didn’t know how to toast a girl. Not because I couldn’t but because the girls kept throwing themselves at me. Hawte dude like me, I was so fly, I didn’t even realise that time’s passing by. Today I gotta rhyme everything in the damn book and even then, I aint guaranteed a date with the hawte girls… How the mighty are fallen, smh.

Ten years ago I had the love of a damsel. Fool I, didn’t know just how to deal with her. Unfortunately haven’t quite passed that class, so, here I am ten years later, hoping, searching for a love that’s pure… 😥 the thing con dey dodge pesin. Cupid, ko da ooo.

Ten years ago, I supported two football teams, Super Eagles of Nigeria and Arsenal FC in England. Well, after Korea-Japan 2002, my love for the Eagles started dwindling till it died naturally. Arsenal did last another half decade, ultimately, the fire ebbed and the love fizzled. So here I am, clubless. And to choose amongst Real Madrid, Juventus, Inter Milan, Manchester City and Bayern Munich… I’ll get back to you before the season commences. Needless to say, it won’t be love, it’ll be convenience.

Ten years ago I literally didn’t know fear. Got beaten too often I developed an impervious hide. The cane and the words didn’t enter into my spirit, so I lived life on my rules. Today I’m learning compromise and the fact that it’s not always about me. 😦 I wish it was though, I like fearless.

Ten years ago, I drifted a bit. Became bored and decided to investigate the things my friends were touting. Sadly even now, I’m still on the quest back. I’ve been lost oft, this adventure seems to have no end… I will get there though, I see the light already.

Over the course of the last ten years, I have learnt things, met people and seen different places. I found that girls don’t worship the boy genius forever, they will, he has money, otherwise they’ll get to stepping. That talking and discussions don’t really solve anything, the solution is to DO. I have found that the best intentions always never seem to come to pass, maybe because of enemy action, or due to the fact that misleading counsel was given and taken.

I have learnt that the race is not always to the swiftest, nor the battle to the strongest, but that time and chance happeneth to them all… I found that the dreams and fantasies of a starrey-eyed teenager are a little bit surreal (reality sets in and puts you in check) 😥

Ten years ago, I was growing taller everyday, even Oloye who was taller than I was in SS3 had to do a double take when he saw I had outgrown him. Today, I’m set at a certain height (if you’re wondering, I’m tall oo, I just would like to be as tall as Yao Ming or Shaquille O’Neal :)) so I learnt growth stops at certain levels, you have to reinvent the wheel and keep moving, lest you fall into decay.

Now I realise most would wonder why I am saddling you with this tales… Here’s a poser, take a breather, sit by yourself and think back ten years. Would that teenager or adolescent recognize you? Are you living the life that you envisaged you would be living or surpassed it?

Life does not often go as we planned, still it delivers the very thing we need. I recently saw an inscription, ‘Life operates a restaurant where the only item on the menu is karma, you get served what you deserve’ ruminate a while and adjust, for though you may not be the centre of the universe, you’re the centre of yours. So make every moment count, and leave a lasting impression.

PS: Cast thy bread upon the waters, for thou shalt find it, after many days…
I guess what I’ve been trying to say in a nutshell is this, if you had a dream, or desire that has transcended time or is annoyingly persistent, pray to God about it, let him direct your path. It may be destiny calling out to you, reach out and partake of it. PEACE.

One thought on “Ten Years

  1. I agree with almost everything you said except that Karma part. Most times life doesn’t throw at you what you deserve but what it desires. That is the more reason “the race is not t̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇ the swift nor t̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇ the strongest but time Ãήϑ chances happeneth t̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇ them all”.
    In all its an inspiring piece Ãήϑ its making me t̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇ think back on so many things.

    Thumbs Up!

Ehs you, yes you! Please don't sneak off na, drop a line, share your thoughts...

